Drone

I picked up an electric helicopter at the Bow RC auction for about $50 that spent less than 10min in the air before destroying itself. Turned me off to RC for while until the MFW got me a Phantom Quad that is completely different than any RC vehicle I’ve ever flown.

I pretty much took it out of the box, charged the battery (potentially unnecessary) and launched it. I let it rise 10 ft and I let go of the controls and it stayed where it was.

My first RC plane was a 6ft wing span affair with a gas motor, dabs of superglue and no concept of gravity beyond what I controlled it to do. It eventually split in half and put a small dent in a railroad track after about 5 hrs of flight time. Totally worth it.

The drone is so far a different game. The video it takes from high altitude is like a new tripod with abilities I didn’t imagine before I started practicing with it.

Leave a Reply

