h1

Cost of reading a EULA/ToS

July 5, 2011

An EULA is an End User License Agreement.  TOS stands for Terms of Service.  For this post I’m referring to the legalese you are often required to agree that you’ve read and agree to before using a piece of software or a web based service.  Much like speed limits – these things are often ignored.  I wondered how much time and money would be required to read them so I started collecting some info.

Based on my measurements/sampling so far:

  • Average length of  EULA/ToS: 7,385 words
  • Typical reading Speed: 200 words/min
  • Average Time to read Typical EULA/ToS: 37 min
  • Average Software Developer rate: $40/hr
  • Cost to read the EULA/ToS: $25
Bottom line, most companies are expecting $25 worth of your time to read these things.  This is just to read them – not to think about them or contemplate what the repercussions of the agreement might be for your situation using the software in question.  I think about this when I’m clicking that “I Agree” check box – and the developer of the software could easily tell that I only spent about 3 seconds on the page/form/window with the text on it – and there’s no way I could have read it all.  I’m thinking a fun thing to put on the page would be a “Congratulations, your reading speed is 3,800 words/min – and you probably missed that whole part about your first born” or something similar indicating that there’s no way you read the whole thing.
This also reminded me of a Poll Question I once read on the site SlashDot.
Leave a Reply

