Negativity Measurement

I’d like to construct a method to rate twitter feeds, blogs, websites, podcasts, facebook feeds etc on how negative they are.  It reminds me of the mention I heard that facebook should have a “get over it” button.  The reason is so I can filter my current subscription streams and remove some of the sources that are too negative – or make it so I can read these feeds during lunch, when I should be getting on to something interesting.  The majority of the stuff coming from these vectors is useless, and often it’s contrived and misleading.  It’s the whole FUD (Fear + Uncertain + Doubt) response people have and feel the need to spread that I’m getting frustrated with.

One big problem with this idea is that I’d never have seen this post had such a filter been on my blog.

Leave a Reply

