Toshiba HD-A2 Sound Problem

Bought the $80 Toshiba HD-A2 HD DVD player at Walmart a couple friday’s back – had to wait in a short line. I’m very happy with it. The HD movies look great, and older nonHD DVD’s definatly look much better… not HD, but clearer and not as many artifacts. I was very suprised with how well the HD version of the 1978 film “Superman Returns” looked.

However, I had a sound problem today – no sound at all coming out of the device. Tried a bunch of things, and a bunch of DVD’s until I read in this article that it has a PC based platform. So I decided to try rebooting, and it worked. I just turned it off and on and the sound works again.

It has a LAN port on the back as well… makes me wonder if it’s open for some hacking – maybe reading HD DVD’s or pushing content to the TV.

Leave a Reply

