Goodbye Girl

[D]I met her in a [A]pool room (bar room).
[D]Her name I didn’t [A]catch.
[D]She looks like [A]something special.
[D]The kind who’d under[A]stand.
[D]The room was almost [A]spinning.
[D]She pulled another [A]smile.
[D]She had the grace [A]like pleasure.
[D]She had a [A]certain style.
[G]Sunlight on [A]the lino.
[G]Woke me with a [A]shake.
[D]I looked around to find her [G]but she had gone.[D]
[D]Goodbye girl.[G]
[D]Goodbye girl.[G]
[D]Goodbye girl.[A]
She took me to a hotel(motel).
A room on the second floor.
The kettle and two coffees.
A number on the door.
She said, “I hardly know you”.
Agreed we kissed goodnight.
I knew that in the morning.
Somehow I’d wake to find;

Sunlight on the lino.
Waking me with a shake.
I looked around to find her but she had gone.
Goodbye girl.
Goodbye girl.
Goodbye girl.

I’ve lost my silver razor(blue address book).
My club room locker keys.
The money in the waist coat(fur coat).
It doesn’t bother me.
My wife has moved to Jersey(Guernsey).
So mugged is not the word.
If you ever see her, Say “Hello, goodbye girl”.

Sunlight on the lino.
Woke me with a shake.
I looked around to find her but she had gone.
Goodbye girl.
Goodbye girl.
Goodbye girl.

Transcribed by Jon Ecklund 6/6/97 JECKLU02@SPRYNET.COM
(Reformatted by M@ for SongBook formatting)

Leave a Reply

