iPod Dissected

Did some early morning laundry the other day and when I went to put it in the drier I found my iPod on on the bottom of the washing machine.  I put it in a bowl of rice over night (advice I’d heard on saving wet electronics), and tried charging it, but the next day there was no responsiveness at all.  It had a good run, almost a year and a half, pretty typical of electronics I use.

So of course I took it apart.  I was suprised to find that the 6GB hard drive fit perfectly into several of the digital cameras we have.  Unfortunately it didn’t work at all.  I could hear it “trying” to spin up – and it never got there.

Other interesting things I found were the pattern under the touch wheel, and the rubber corners placed around the hard drive to protect it from shock.

Leave a Reply

